Senator Loren Legarda files her certificate of candidacy at the Commission on Elections office in Intramuros, Manila Oct. 1. (Joseph Vidal, NPPA Images)\
The week for the filing of certificates of candidacy began with Senator Aquilino Pimentel III and ended with an unpopular man who always filed for candidacy.
Manuel Po, also known as “Fernando Po”, was the 84th and last to file his candidacy papers at the Commission on Elections main office as the agency closed its doors to political aspirants Friday afternoon. Po filed candidacy papers in 2010 and 2007 under the names “Fernando Po” and “Lapula Po”.
Of the 84 who filed their certificates of candidacy, only 36 had the backing of political parties. Among the accredited parties, the Marcos-era Kilusang Bagong Lipunan nominated the most candidates with nine aspirants including lawyer Oliver Lozano.
The United Nationalist Alliance is fielding nine candidates:  Senator Gregorio Honasan, San Juan Representative JV Ejercito, Cagayan Rep. Jack Enrile, Zambales Representative Milagros Magsaysay, former senators Ernesto Maceda, Richard Gordon, and Juan Miguel Zubiri. Margarita Cojuangco is also running under UNA, as is UNA deputy secretary general Nancy Binay, who was a last-minute addition to the slate.
UNA will support three guest candidates: Senators Francis Escudero (Indepedent), Loren Legarda (Nationalist People’s Coalition), and former censor board chair Grace Poe-Llamanzares (Independent). The guest candidates will also be running under a coalition led by the administration Liberal Party.
The LP itself is fielding just three candidates: former senators Ramon Magsaysay Jr. and Jamby Madrigal, and social entrepreneur Paolo Benigno Aquino IV, the President’s cousin. The LP has entered into a coalition with the Nacionalista Party, which is fielding Senate Minority Leader Alan Peter Cayetano and former Las Pinas representative Cynthia Villar. Akbayan party-list, also a member of the coalition, is again trying its luck at a Senate seat with former representative Risa Hontiveros-Baraquel.
Bayan Muna Rep. Teddy Casino is the lone senatorial candidate of the Makabayan coalition. He has said it is time for new blood in the Senate.
Ang Kapatiran Party has three candidates: JC Delos Reyes, Lito David, and lawyer Marwin Llasos, They call themselves “Tatlo Kontra-Trapo.”
Less-known parties Democratic Party of the Philippines, with candidates Greco Belgica, Christian Seneres, and Baldohero Falcone, as well as the Social Justice Society, with Samson Alcantara, are also participating in the Senate race.
Comelec has yet to determine the official list of Senate candidates.
Full list of hopefuls:
MONDAY, October 1
1. Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel – PDP-Laban
2. Anicio Escosura – Independent
3. Daniel Magtira – nominated by “First Lady Imelda Marcos/Cong. Carlo Lopez”
4. Aeric Bernardino – Independent
5. Melchor Chavez – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
6. Salam Lacan Luisong Tagean – Independent
7. Patrocinio Cailing – Independent
8. Juanito Donato – Independent
9. Oliver Lozano – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
10. Cagayan Representative Jack Enrile – Nationalist People’s Coalition/United Nationalist Alliance
11. Senator Gregorio Honasan – United Nationalist Alliance
12. Juan Miguel Zubiri – United Nationalist Alliance
13. San Juan City Representative JV Ejercito – United Nationalist Alliance
14. Ernesto Maceda – United Nationalist Alliance
15. Former Senator Richard Gordon – United Nationalist Alliance
16. Zambales Representative Maria Milagros “Mitos” Magsaysay – United Nationalist Alliance
17. Margarita “Tingting” Cojuangco – United Nationalist Alliance
18. Merlito Lagata – Independent
19. Senator Loren Legarda – Nationalist People’s Coalition
20. Remelyn Ajel – Independent
TUESDAY, October 2
21  Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero – Independent
22. Valeriano Nocon III – Independent
23. Former Las Pinas City Representative Cynthia Villar – Nacionalista Party
24. Catalino Dazo – Independent
25. Eduardo Fernandez – Independent
26. MTRCB chairwoman Mary Grace Poe-Llamanzares – Independent
27. Johnny Cris Sy – Independent
WEDNESDAY, October 3
28. Ricardo Penson – Independent
29. Bayan Muna party-list Representative Teddy Casino – Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan
30. Senator Antonio Trillanes IV – Nacionalista Party
31. Aurora Representative Sonny Angara – Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino
32. Ericson Rojas – Independent
33. Rebecca Santosidad – Independent
34. Victor Lawag – Independent
35. Ramon Montano – Independent
36. Puerta Princesa Mayor Edward Hagedorn – Independent
37. Orlando Suerte – Independent
THURSDAY, October 4
38. Virgilio Galang – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
39. Leo Cadion – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
40. Arsenio Dimaya – Independent
41. Florentino Baguio – Independent
42. Leonardo Bula – Independent
43. Samson Alcantara – Social Justice Society
44. Benjamin Handilmon, Jr. – Independent
45. Maria Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal – Liberal Party
46. Rizalito David – Ang Kapatiran Party
47. Marwil Llasos – Ang Kapatiran Party
48. JC de los Reyes – Ang Kapatiran Party
49. Greco Belgica – Democratic Party of the Philippines
FRIDAY, October 5
50. Rogelio Tomol – Independent
51. Ramon “Jun” Magsaysay Jr. – Liberal Party
52. Paolo Benigno Aquino IV – Liberal Party
53. Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros – Akbayan Citizens’ Action Party
54. Norma Nueva – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
55. Christian Seneres – Democratic Party of the Philippines
56. Virgilio Gundayao – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
57. Baldohero Falcone – Democratic Party of the Philippines
58. Ulyn Villamor – Independent
59. Alan Peter Cayetano – Nactionalista Party
60. Roque Garay – Independent
61. Francis Leo Marcos – Independent
62. Rafael Cabrera – Independent
63. Cosme Omie Soriano – Independent
64. Manuel Espinosa – Independent
65. Pepito Salangsang – Independent
66. Elena Mandap – Independent
67. Victor Angelo Cadag – Independent
68. Byron Adriano Gorostiza – Independent
69. Monato Sulibit – Independent
70. Generoso Factor – Independent
71. Severo Maluenda Jr. – Independent
72. Wenceslao Pancho Jr. – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
73. Rosario Bantolo – Independent
74. Alma Abella – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
75. Manuel Insigne – Independent
76. Carlito Ning -  Independent
77. Edwin Jolongbayan – Independent
78. Maria Lourdes “Nancy” Binay – United Nationalist Alliance
79. Victor Wood – Kilusang Bagong Lipunan
80. Elizabeth Capular – Independent
81. Alfonso Talag Jr. – Independent
82. Wendell “President” Lope – independent
83. Marlon Rirao – Nationalist People’s Coalition
84. Manuel Po – Independent



Post a Comment